The Nine Tests of Character

SERIES – The Divine Nine (The Nine Tests of Character)

Galatians 5:22-23 NIV

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

God does not want to be a RESIDENT in our lives but the PRESIDENT of our lives.

Reasons the Holy Spirit is given to believers:

1. To enable us to DO something 2. To enable us to BE something

You cannot carve ROTTEN WOOD!

The nine-fold fruit of the Spirit:

1. The UPWARD look
Love- CONCERN for others
Joy- A sense of SATISFACTION because God is with us Peace- CONFIDENCE in the POWER of God

2. The OUTWARD look
Patience- The ability to ENDURE injury
Kindness- Being FRIENDLY to people we don’t like
Goodness- To do what is RIGHT regardless of what others are doing

3. The INWARD look
Faithfulness- To be RELIABLE and DEPENDABLE
Humility- power under CONTROL
Self-control- The ability to control PASSIONS and APPETITES

Powerful points to ponder:

A. The Holy Spirt wants to PRODUCE these character traits in years your life.
B. The Fruit is not something we conjure up, but it is PRODUCED within by the Holy Spirit C. God uses CIRCUMSTANCES to develop these character traits within us.
D. Jesus LIVED these virtues perfectly

Romans 8:28-29 NLT – 28 And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. 29 For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.